Two types of retention policy can be created in Microsoft 365:
- Label-based retention policies, where the label is used to define the retention and retention outcomes. Labels must be published in a retention policy, a process that includes determining where the labels will be applied and appear (‘explicit’) to end users.
- Non-label-based retention policies, where the policy includes the retention details and the outcomes. As part of the policy creation, these policies are then applied to specific Microsoft 365 workloads where they are mostly invisible to end-users (except in Exchange mailboxes). In SharePoint and OneDrive for Business, these policies create a Preservation Hold library that is only visible to Site Collection Admins and above.
It is possible to apply both a label-based retention policy and a non-label retention policy to the same SharePoint site. In theory, this would allow for (a) everything on the site to be covered by an overarching retention policy and (b) specific libraries or lists to be covered by a label-based policy.
In practice, it gets a little complicated, as described in this post.
Creating the two labels
For the purpose of this post, I will apply the two types of policy to a SharePoint site (‘FinanceAP’) that contains specific types of financial information that needs to be kept for 7 years, but I want to allow other content on the site to be destroyed after 5 years.
Retention labels are created in the Information Governance section of the Compliance admin portal in Microsoft 365. I created a label titled ‘Financial records’ with a retention period of 7 years. I then published that label to a retention policy named ‘Financial Records – 7 years’ and applied it only to the FinanceAP site.
More than one label can be published in the same policy, making this a useful option if your SharePoint architecture ‘maps to your file plan or Business Classification Scheme (BCS) and your records retention classes are based on either. It also allows you to create and add the same retention class for types of records that occur in multiple functions where the classes have the same retention – for example, ‘Meetings – 7 years’ or ‘Policy – 10 years’.
Once the policy has been published to a site or sites, the option (in Library Settings) to ‘Apply label to items in this list or library’ can be used to choose which label will apply to the content in the library, as shown below.
If the column ‘Retention label’ is checked, the retention label name appears in that column.
Non-label retention policy
Non-label retention policies are also created in the Information Governance section of the Compliance admin portal which also (a little confusingly) lists all the label-based policies as well.
The process of creating these policies includes the retention (e.g, 5 years) and retention outcome (delete) definitions, as well as the location where the policy will be applied.
For the purpose of this post I created a retention label named ‘Financial Working Records – 5 years’ and applied it to the same site (only) as the label-based policy.
I should expect now to find a Preservation Hold library (via Site Contents as a SharePoint admin) when something is deleted.
At this point, I have two retention policies, (a) one label-based and applied to the site, and (b) one that applies to the whole site.
What happens now?
In the document library where the label-based policy has been selected, I can see that the retention label (Financial Records) that has been applied to items in this library.
This means that I cannot delete this document unless (as an end-user with edit rights or admins) the retention label is removed. However, as we will see below, another policy is working behind the scenes.
In a document library where no label-based policy has been applied, I can see that no label appears under the Retention label policy. From an end-user point of view, it appears that the record can be deleted – or is it?
As this site is the subject of an ‘implicit’ or invisible retention policy that has been applied to the entire site, any attempt to delete anything will be captured by the back-end Preservation Hold library seen below via Site Contents (visible to Admins only).
Interestingly, any attempt to delete a document from a library where a label-based retention policy has been applied, which is ‘denied’ in the actual library, is recorded in the Preservation Hold library, although the document remains in the original library.
If anyone with access to the Preservation Hold library tries to delete that item there, they will receive this message:
The only way to remove this item is to remove the policy.